Waitin' for the love of a travelin' soldier

Two days past eighteenHe was waiting for the bus in his army greensSat down in a booth in a cafe thereGave his order to a girl with a bow in her hairHe's a little shy so she gives him a smileAnd he said would you mind sittin' down for a whileAnd talking to me, I'm feeling a little lowShe said I'm off in an hour and I know where we can go

So they went down and they sat on the pierHe said I bet you got a boyfriend but I don't careI got no one to send a letter toWould you mind if I sent one back here to you

I criedNever gonna hold the hand of another guyToo young for him they told herWaitin' for the love of a travelin' soldierOur love will never endWaitin' for the soldier to come back againNever more to be alone when the letter saidA soldier's coming home

So the letters came from an army campIn California then VietnamAnd he told her of his heartIt might be love and all of the things he was so scared ofHe said when it's getting kinda rough over hereI think of that day sittin' down at the pierAnd I close my eyes and see your pretty smileDon't worry but I won't be able to write for awhile
I criedNever gonna hold the hand of another guyToo young for him they told herWaitin' for the love of a travelin' soldierOur love will never endWaitin' for the soldier to come back againNever more to be alone when the letter saidA soldier's coming home
One Friday night at a football gameThe Lord's prayer said and the Anthem sangA man said folks would you bow your headsFor a list of local Vietnam deadCrying all alone under the standsWas a piccolo player in the marching bandAnd one name read and nobody really caredBut a pretty little girl with a bow in her hair
I criedNever gonna hold the hand of another guyToo young for him they told herWaitin' for the love of a travelin' soldierOur love will never endWaitin' for the soldier to come back againNever more to be alone when the letter saysA soldier's coming

I cried
Never gonna hold the hand of another guyToo young for him they told herWaitin' for the love of a travelin' soldierOur love will never endWaitin' for the soldier to come back againNever more to be alone when the letter saysA soldier's coming home




Himla lång text, men den är så fin, så var tvungen att lägga upp den!

Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0